Hello world…again!

Well, I finally made the move from Blogger to WordPress. The truth is that I’d been wanting to do it for some time, but I never had the conviction to do it until now. And, part of me didn’t really want to start this thing all over again 😉

Anywho, here I am, and I guess I’ll start by explaining the name of my blog, “Blackholeknitter”. First answer: Yes, I am a knitter. I prefer crocheting, but that’s really beside the point.  When I took up knitting a few years ago (after a decade+ hiatus), I came across an interesting concept, the black hole of knitting. I’m not exactly sure if that’s the exact phrase, but it stuck with me. For those of you non-knitters, the black hole of knitting is that moment during a project where you knit and knit and nothing seems to happen. But, once you pass it, you’re home free. A rather eloquent concept, right? I thought so. So, I decided to adopt the name and start the blog I’d always wanted to start. In the beginning, I thought it would be about crafts (knitting, crocheting, felting, etc.)…little did I know…

This is where the tagline comes in: “a blog about crafting a life”.  At first, it was “a blog about crafting”. It wasn’t exactly accurate, but it was all I could come up with at the time. Around that time, a whole lot of crap happened in my life. Eventually, I started having anxiety issues and what was diagnosed as panic attacks. I was in therapy for almost a year and got all better (yeah, that’s what I thought). A couple of years later, I kinda fell off the wagon. I started having a lot of anxiety and went back into therapy. That’s where I am now. I found a wonderful therapist who has been very helpful in my process. Last year, I did a 30-day blogging challenge and that’s when the tagline changed. I realized that my blog wasn’t about crafts but about how I was beginning to build my life. Voila, the new tagline was born!

In the last few months, a lot of things have changed and improved in my life. It’s so very different from last year or the year before…or all of the years before that. Just writing that brings a smile to my face.  With this blog I hope to share what I’ve learned about my life and what I do with my life. I’m so very excited. I can’t wait to start posting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

