I’m an introvert…deal with it

First of all, Happy New Year. Chinese New Year, that is or rather 새해 복 많이 받으세요 😉

With that out of the way, to blogging we go.

Disclaimer: if you are an extrovert you will probably want to turn away now. On a cellular level, you will not be able to understand what I am going to say.

For the longest time, I let people tell me that I was moody and ill-tempered. I adopted it as my entire personality. I was convinced that it was true.

A few days ago, though, I was hit with a revelation. My cousin said that I would never get along with his sister because we both had difficult personalities. I thought, “Wait a minute. I might not get along with her because SHE might have a difficult personality. I don’t.” That’s when it hit me. This kid, who barely knows me, was only going by what other people said about me (probably my sister *eye roll*). He didn’t know me. I know me.

I’m not moody at all. I don’t have a bad/negative/abrasive personality. I’m a really nice person. I’m very supportive of my friends, and I can put others at ease with a few choice words. I also sacrifice my personal time to comply with other people’s demands. How does that make me a person with a bad attitude?

The people who were giving me feedback were probably all extroverts or more extroverted than introverted.  I consider myself highly introverted but not a total shut in.

  • I despise large groups of people.
  • Loud noises and bright lights bother me.
  • Small talk? I’m damn good at it, but I’d rather not do it for more than a few minutes.
  • I hate meeting new people (the old ones are not the high point of my day, either) because I have to be “on”, i.e act in a socially acceptable way when I’m around them.

I enjoy being alone. It relaxes me. I absolutely LOVE doodling and writing. Basically, I just want to be left alone most of the time. So, if I do engage with you, you better believe that what I’m going to say is golden. I wouldn’t break out of my silence for anything less.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is: Don’t let anyone tell you who you are or what you’re like.

Secondly, being an introvert rocks. You are probably creative, make all kinds of awesome stuff, and your friends admire you for that.

Finally, don’t try to change yourself into an extroverted person just because other people make you feel you should be. This will only cause stress and anxiety. If you don’t want to go to “that” party, don’t go. If you want to leave a place early, leave. I’ll just leave you with one of my favorite quotes by Dr. Seuss:

 

“…those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.”

Rock on, my fellow introverts!

Leave a Reply

