The Pillars of the Earth – Reading in Progress

The first thing that you need to know is that it’s pretty hard to find current English-language books where I live. The second thing that you need to know is that they’re pretty expensive. So, I think twice before buying them locally.

But, the other day I was killing time at the mall and decided to check out some books on calligraphy. Not a calligraphy book in sight just fyi. I did stumble across this gem, though. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet. I knew it had been turned into a miniseries, so I figured it had to be decent, right?

ThePillarsOfTheEarth-KenFollet-paperback

I’m about 150 pages in, and I’m hooked. I don’t even know why. There isn’t really anything out of the ordinary that has happened. It’s just life. Pretty crappy life for Tom and his family so far, but just common, everyday life.

Well, I look forward to continuing this read.

And, just so you know: This book retails for $10 as a paperback, but it’s twice that much here. Yep, a 200% mark-up! Oh, well. I never mind spending money on a good book 🙂

Feel free to let me know what you thought of the book. But, no spoilers, okay?

 

 

Leave a Reply

