Purple Succulent – Watercolor

Sorry about disappearing for the last few weeks. Life, you know what I mean? But, now I’m back with watercolors. For today’s post, I’m sharing my study on succulents.

While looking for projects to paint, I stumbled upon a picture of succulents on Pinterest and thought they would be perfect for watercolors. All in all, I did three small paintings. I’m going to start off with the purple succulent. That way I can add more pictures to one without it being overwhelming.

Here goes.

STEP 1 – FINDING/CREATING THE BASIC COLORS  I started by making a color chart with the paints I had. It took me a while to get the right lavender color I was looking for. But, after some experimenting with different colors and quantities of water a got it (bottom right). This is something I never do. With any other form of painting, I generally just add the colors to the paper or canvas without a second thought. But, since I’m not yet familiar with my watercolors, I’ve found that this is the best way to get started.

purple succulent 01

STEP 2 – LAY DOWN THE BASE COLOR   This is the first wash. I laid down the lightest lavender I could make over the entire succulent.

purple succulent02

 

STEP 3 – SUCCESSIVE WASHES   I think I went a little overboard here. I added too much purple to that top middle area right off the bat. So, I think my darks ended up way too dark. But, I was wary of adding more color to the lighter areas for fear of going to far. However, I did learn a valuable lesson here: always err on the side of caution. It might take longer than expected, but it’s better to keep adding washes until you get the desired results.

purple succulent03

STEP 4- ADDING BACKGROUND COLOR    I decided to add a halo of color around the succulent just to make it stand out and ground the painting. That’s also why I chose a contrasting color.

purple succulent04

CLOSE UP  This is just a close up of the center of the painting. My favorite part about watercolors is the line that shows up between two different colors. I love how the eye blends it together, but upon closer inspection, you can see the colors as separate and distinct.

purple succulent-closeup

So, there it is: my first succulent. I don’t mind the pencil lines. I know some people do. But, I think they add character to the final product. The lighting wasn’t brilliant either, so sorry about that. I’m trying to find the right set up for taking pictures of watercolors (it’s a lot harder than one would think). Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 🙂

As for the others, I’ll try to get them up soon.

Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

