The One thing People with Anxiety Forget

I’m sure you all want to know what I, a perfect stranger, has to say on the topic ūüėČ But, first let me give you some background info.

A few years ago, I was truly and utterly stressed out, burned out, my nerves were frayed, and I was completely exhausted. I had had a very crappy year, and at the end of said year I had a breakdown. At the time, I was “semi-diagnosed” with an anxiety disorder. I say “semi” because neither my psychiatrist nor my psychologist at the time ever committed to saying the A word. They just treated me for panic attacks and stress. I was on meds for almost a year, and I was in treatment for the same amount of time.

It was really great, but a couple of years later I was right were I had started. I was a little stronger, but I was overwhelmed again. I sought out another psychologist this time. It was a woman, and she was an energy therapist as well as a floral therapist. I had a great experience with her as well and learned so much from her.

I left her a couple of years ago when I had to have gall bladder surgery. The truth is that I felt great after the surgery. I had no anxiety and no unmanageable stress. But, I have to admit that since then, I’ve had my bouts with anxiety and that bothersome, intangible fear. But, I’ve gotten through and past it. And, this brings me neatly to the point of this post.

THE NUMBER ONE THING THAT PEOPLE WITH ANXIETY FORGET is that WE¬†HAVE GOTTEN THROUGH IT…consistently. We¬†have fought against it, and WE¬†HAVE WON…every.single.time.

But, we never feel that brave or successful, do we? We tend to focus on the uneasy feelings and start that pity party. So, a¬†few months ago I decided: “NO MORE. I’m better than this!” I turned that self-defeating¬†attitude around and started focusing on my achievements.¬†Now when I feel anxious, I just focus on the fact that I’m successful at beating it. That actually takes away a lot of my anxiety.¬†The rest of it is taken care of by simply NOT thinking about it.

I encourage you all to make that switch or at least try to. You might not be ready yet, but you know what the end game is. It might be harder or easier than you expect. But, I know that it’s possible. Take it from me, a world champion when it comes to over thinking the bad stuff.

If you want to know more about my journey and bouts with anxiety, check out this post.

Blog at you guys soon. In the meantime, have a great one!

Leave a Reply

