My DIY Travel Watercolor Palette

This isn’t really a tutorial. I just wanted to show off my portable watercolor palette. 😉

A few months ago, I was really keen on making a portable watercolor palette because I didn’t want to carry my full-sized palette with me. I don’t live in a dicey neighborhood, but I didn’t want to worry about losing something or being caught off guard especially if I was going to go out by myself to do some plein air painting.

I had looked at a lot of tutorials, and the best option seemed to be a tin of some sort. I had a few Altoid tins, but they were the tiny ones. I didn’t think it would be easy to get anything into them, so I looked around for the regular-sized one. Let me just say, they are insanely expensive where I live (outside of the US). They cost about 3 times as much as the ones I saw on the internet.

I realized that all I could do was wait to find something else and, of course, complain about it on FB. My friend, T, from high school saw my FB post and offered to send me some. Well, what y’all need to know about T is that she is the the bomb…I mean, DA bomb! And, not because she sent me a whole lot more than just some Altoids. She’s a great person all around. Honestly, everyone needs someone like her in their life ^____^ [Side note: If you’re ever in New Braunfels, TX, drop by Oma Gruene so you can meet her first hand!]

Anyway, here’s what I made thanks to my lovely friend and a bunch of YouTube tutorials. If you want a breakdown, just let me know.

travel-watercolor-palette-diy

See ya next time!

Leave a Reply

